The Convenient Bride – Jennifer St George

Today, I have the lovely and talented Jennifer St George on my blog, talking about her very first book, ‘The Convenient Bride’. We’re sort of like kindred spirits as both our first books were set, in some part, in beautiful Venice.

Jennifer tells a very good tale of passion and secrets, of trying to reconcile the past while embracing a new, uncertain future and of course, falling love! She’s very kindly answered a few of my questions…

DM: Jennifer, other than the obvious, why did you choose Venice for the setting of ‘The Convenient Bride’?

JSG: I’d been to Italy a few times but only visited Venice for the first time a few years ago. I was totally blown away by the beauty, history, architecture and sheer magnificence of the city. Just walking those cobble-stoned streets, soaking up the atmosphere I knew I had to set my next book in Venice. I loved recreating the Venetian setting in The Convenient Bride. Trying to capture the true essence of Venice was a fantastic challenge. 

DM: Sienna is a wonderful character, full of interesting quirks that were surprising – like her love of design and architecture. Is this something that you have an interest in personally?

JSG: I grew up in Brisbane, which was mostly gorgeous Queenslanders, post-war houses and brick and tile suburbs. When I was eleven, we moved to South America and travelled there via Italy (I know, the long way round). I was in awe of the architecture and have loved old buildings and interesting architecture ever since.

DM: Antonio’s character is a lot darker, driven by his dark past. Did you have difficulty writing some of the scenes where he was awful to Sienna? 

JSG: I think terrible grief has a profound affect upon a person, so I guess I understood why Antonio behaved the way he did, even though Sienna didn’t. Yes, some of those scene were very hard to write!

DM: In ‘The Convenient Bride’, Sienna runs a hotel. Have you ever worked in the hospitality industry? If not, to what extent did you research?

JSG: Before I began writing, I worked in marketing I was required to travel a lot all over the world from Russia to the Canary Islands to Canada to New York to Korea – everywhere, so I stayed in lots and lots of five-star hotels. Great for research purposes.

DM: Your new book, ‘The Love Deception’, is coming out in June…so wonderful, can’t wait to read! Can you give us a teaser in three sentences? 

Image

JSG: The Love Deception combines legal intrigue, courtroom drama and a dash of exotic Barbados.  When Felicity Carter wakes up naked in a strange bed, she has no idea how she got there and no recollection of meeting the gorgeous man calmly offering her breakfast. Felicity flees and the last thing she expects is to discover that her mystery man is Damon Fullbright, partner at the law firm where Felicity has just started work – and her new boss! [DM: Eeeek! Sounds wonderful Jen, can’t wait!]

9 thoughts on “The Convenient Bride – Jennifer St George

  1. Hi Dana and Jennifer. You’ve both taken us on wonderful journeys to one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Lovely books and great interview.

  2. Hi Dana and Jennifer. It’s been two decades since I was last in Venice but this book took me back there. Jennifer did an exquisite job of showing how beautiful that truly romantic city is. Thanks for giving me a bit of insight into how this lovely book came about. Cheers to you.

Leave a Reply

